Of Cakes and Trains

Standard

The Boy asked for a Thomas the Tank Engine cake for his third birthday last year, and I came up with this:

3-29-09

Well, this year I decided I didn’t want to face all the greasy decorator bags and tips and bowls and spatulas and little boy and girl fingers…so I went the easy route.  The Boy again asked for a Thomas cake, but this year I asked if he wanted to help.  He enthusiastically agreed.  Actually, “enthusiastically” is an understatement.

I bought canned frosting (! Sacrilege !) and decorator icing in tubes.  I made a chocolate cake from a box (! Blasphemy !), in a 9×13 pan.  Nice big canvas for decorating, no stacking required.  We left the cake in the pan (no side to decorate).  He got the “baby” offset spatula (I got the “mommy” one) and we spread the canned frosting over the top. Then:

Cake Decorating 3-29-10

we tried using the tube icing.  It was a little tough for him to squeeze the tube and get the icing to stick to the white frosting just where he wanted it, so I gave him a toothpick to draw in the frosting with.  When he was done his drawing, he told me what colors to use and I went over his lines with icing.  A #4 candle, several star candles and sugar letters finished the job.  Ta Da:

Happy Engines 3-29-10

It may not look like any Percy, James and Thomas you’ve seen before, but my Boy could not have been happier or prouder.  (Or more wired)  And it didn’t take forever to clean up the kitchen!  I think I made a good decision.

2 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh. It is DARLING!!! It’s the best Thomas cake that ever was! Awwwwww, Really really cute and you’re such a good patient Mommy. I’m proud of you!! And of Frederich, he’s an artist for sure. Tell him I said Happy Birthday, okay?

    • Didn’t it come out cute? He is quite the artist – he spends a good part of every day drawing (trains, mostly. Go figure). We’ve had to limit the number of pieces of paper he cane use in one day. We give the kids all the used paper (printed on one side) we have. Frederich has gone through a couple of drafts of Hubby’s Master’s thesis. (BTW – Hubby’s almost as big a packrat as I am. He got his Master’s more than a decade ago….)

Leave a Reply

