A Good Day to be ME!

Standard

Yea!  Yesterday was a good day to be me.  Well, other than slicing my finger with the kitchen scissors while doing dishes (see? doing dishes is BAD NEWS), and having to clean up after the Boy (who is resisting potty training vehemently).  Why was it a good day, you ask?  Well for starters, I got my order from Amazon:

I’ve already read through most of the Maureen Carlson book and am perusing the Katherine Dewey book.  No more arthritic space alien hands on my sculptures! (Unless I’m sculpting arthritic space aliens, of course.)

Secondly, I finished a goofy little bird I’ve been working on:

Chirp!

This is the first thing I’ve ever made that looked anything like the picture I drew first.  I’m either getting better at claying or I’m getting better at drawing. 🙂

And one more thing:  On Thursday I took my sewing machine in to have its yearly (um, more like once-a-decade) check up.  While there, I succumbed to the sales lady’s offer to show me some of the features of the cool little Baby Lock I was looking at.  They were having a floor model sale – which ended  today.  After a lot of thought (no, I didn’t buy it right then) and a conversation with Wonderful Husband, ta da!

Now I can sew with BOTH HANDS!

Isn't she cute?

Look at all the stuff that came with!  This is the newest machine I’ve ever had.  It was a floor model, but it is not “pre-owned.”  So it actually had all the stuff that it it was supposed to.

Feet!

Wonderful Husband thinks I have a foot fetish. 🙂  There is one more on the machine – an embroidery foot.  Yep, this is a sewing and embroidery machine.

Oh, I’m so psyched!  I played around with some of the decorative stitches and embroidered the kids’ names and the word “Alaska” on the fabric that was conveniently hooped up for me.  I spent enough time playing with the machine that Wonderful Husband and the kids had the living room cleaned up for me by the time I came upstairs to cook dinner.  Which ended up being nuked potatoes with salsa and cheese.  I don’t think we’ll be having any multi-course meals for awhile.  I can only be diva-like in one domestic sphere at a time, and until I’ve worked the novelty out of my new machine, I’m afraid the kitchen will not be the one.

5 responses »

  1. It WAS a good day to be YOU!! New books always make me happy and the birdie is really something… look how proud he is, strutting his stuff to all the girl birds… and they are impressed. He’s not going to be sitting on that bottle much longer!

    I am so envious of the new sewing machine… I’m just gonna sit her and turn green!

    Ouchie on the cut finger… better stay out of the kitchen. Sewing will make it feel better.

  2. wouldn’t it of been better to use a sponge instead of the scissors for washing the dishes? I mean that way you probably wouldn’t of cut yourself. That sewing machine looks awesome! Mazel Tov on the new toy

  3. You are going to be a sewin’ fool! How wonderful!!! I love my unused sewing machine, too – when clay came along, it became a piece of furniture. For shame!

  4. Pingback: Smooshers’ Valentine Scavenger Hunt « Butterscotch Grove

Leave a Reply

