Not procrastination, I swear!

Standard

Mid-February probably seems like an odd time to make a post about goals for the year.  Maybe you think I should put “stop procrastinating” on my Not-Quite-New Year’s resolution list.  Well, I’m not going to do that.  Here’s why: no list of resolutions!  Yea!

I have many, many notebooks (journals, sketchbooks, diaries, scraps of paper, napkins from restaurants, etc.) from over many, many years, that I can’t throw away, somehow.  Every couple of years, I come across a list, dated “Sept ‘97” or something, on which I’ve detailed my goals for the next year (or five years, or life, or no time-frame at all).  They always mention losing weight, getting organized and writing more.  It has become obvious to me that I’ve been doing this wrong, since it seems I go backwards on all of these things every time I write them down.

This year, I’ve decided to set three smallish goals for myself per month.  In January, I chose: 1. to spend 30 minutes a day, three days per week, getting rid of clutter; 2. to make sure we had “project time” three times per week (more on that later); and 3. to finish three of the numerous art/craft projects I’ve started over the last year.

Goal 3 went swimmingly.  I finished a crocheted sun hat for the Girl, a knitted fox hat for the Boy, and put the finishing touches on a knitted stegosaurus I started last summer.  Boy was so happy to see that his stego had eyes, he brought me three more knitted dinos to have their eyes added. (Photos to come)

Goal 2 worked fairly well, but I discovered that protecting the time for project-based learning is not as important as I thought.  There are two reasons for this:  it’s hard to find a time when Boy is not directing his own learning, and the length is not as vital as the kids knowing that this time is for them to do what they want – I will be there to attend to and document their activities and help them, if they need help.  I will keep track of questions and plans they have, and materials they need, but I WILL NOT TAKE OVER.

Goal 1?  Well . . . slow progress is better than none.

So, now it’s time for February’s goals:

  1. Continue making progress decluttering by going through one box or pile, or clearing one surface, at least 3 times per week.
  2. Finish 3 more projects.
  3. Write at least 2 blog posts. (One down!)

How are you improving/enjoying life?

3 responses »

  1. You’re making progress! Perhaps the key will be to actually start with #1 one month, #2, #3, then reverse them again the next month. That way you will still achieve the more favorite goals, yet the clutter issue will, also, be addressed from time to time – and you’ll rightfully be so very proud of yourself!

    This is the voice of experience talking, as lately I have been skipping over my own #1 on the list, because I’m simply not in the mood and will do a better job (I convince myself) when properly motivated. That’s hogwash! I love a list, crossing off successes, but the truth is that living alone lets me manipulate myself, a form of a lie – and no one knows the difference. Not as easy for you, with little eyes watching their role model.

    Or maybe, in your case, just don’t let anyone else see your list!

    MIL

Leave a Reply

