New Stuff

Standard

Wow – have you ever had one of those mornings when you need coffee just to make the coffee?  First I forgot to put the coffee in the maker – so I was just heating up water.  Then I put in too much (I guess – it’s REALLY strong).  Then I poured it on my cereal.  Sigh.

Well, at least my cane making has been going better than that – WAY better!  Long ago, I tried making a rose cane that, well, looked cool, but was not very rose-like.  So, last Sunday I spent some time studying the lovely roses that Marcia Tzigelnik makes.  It took a bit of concentration for me to get the idea of how to make these flowers look 3D, but I really like how they came out.

Purple Rose Cane

Peachy Rose Cane

I used the scrap from my purple rose experiment to make some nice springy filigree pins:

Spring!

And then, yesterday, I suddenly HAD to work on something I’ve wanted to try for a long while.  The Kuna people (the women, anyway) of Panama wear beautifully vibrant reverse-appliqued fabric panels on their blouses. Here’s an example:

Geometric Mola

Check here for more fabulous examples!

Since I was introduced to this lovely craft (in a Piecework magazine article, years ago), I’ve wanted to make one.  Thing is, although I love needlework of all kinds, I’ve never had the patience to try it in fabric.  Somehow, I have more patience for fiddly stuff in polymer clay, so here’s my first pc mola (I decided to try one a bit less complex than the example above):

Parrot Mola Cane

The small picture in the upper right is the image I was copying.  Needs some work, but I’m really happy with it.  Can’t wait to start the next one…but I have to go get some more clay first!! :-)

6 responses »

    • Nope, it’s mostly Premo. I actually have some white Kato (and trans, black, and 3 “sampler” sets!) but I have a bunch of a pretty pink (Premo) scrap mix I was going to use for your rose. I’m a little worried about mixing Kato with Premo. Soooo, that’ll have to wait a bit. Or I’ll just make it of all Kato. :-)

    • Thanks, Cara! The really frustrating part is that I have gobs of clay, just not the right colors in the right brand! Grrr.

  1. Last night I spotted a Mola pattern on a handbag someone was carrying. I mentiones Panamanian Mola pattern and they looked at me with disbelief that I actually knew what it was. I have you to thank for the education by having seen your lovely patterns! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

